Summer so far…

It seems Summer is in it’s full fury. Fourth of July came and went. Now it’s visits to the pool, mixed with the library, morning schooling sessions and whatever else we can cram into a day. The weather has been hot this year. I feel like I continually smell of chlorine and my hair is blonder in spots than ever before. My skin is dry and scaly. I’m not one for being tan all the time. But my tan lines are in their glory. If you train outdoors, it’s inevitable you will be very dark. A 17-year-old me would love this. But the almost 36-year-old is cringing. I keep thinking, “what will this do?” I don’t want to look like the grandmother in “What About Mary” when I get older.

We celebrated the Fourth at Longwood Gardens. Last year we went for Mother’s Day and I can honestly say, this is a favorite place for all of us. It’s amazing what someone will do to save trees. Mr. du Pont didn’t want the land to be developed, so he bought all of it. You can read the history here. The trees are amazing. There are so many varieties and species of everything, the gardener in your family will be in heaven. And the fireworks were crazy. I am pretty sure the ground moved during the show. The one building that amazes all of us is the conservatory. It’s like the most extreme greenhouse you could ever walk through. The place is also kid-friendly. There are huge treehouses and a water garden, a guide book called “Scent Seekers,” as well as open fields when your children feel like running. Plus, it’s a photographer’s dreamland.

4 thoughts on “Summer so far…

  1. Wow, this whole set of photos is so beautiful!
    And the bit about “something about mary” cracked me up….ah I can relate to that 😉
    Hope you are having a great weekend, friend.

Leave a Reply

