Unravelling

I am really excited to start a new journey. Besides training for races, being a mom and doing photography projects here and there, I decided to enroll in Susannah Conway’s Unravelling e-course. I felt like it was something I really wanted and really needed to do.

When I was in the Creative Writing program at San Francisco State, I was really fortunate to have amazing instructors, who made writing a new experience every day. But after writing stories for years, I burned out. I can honestly say, I have not written a story in 14 years. Since I graduated from college. After school, I went on to other things. Most importantly I married and had children.

I wrote fiction, short stories. I loved, loved, loved the work of Tobias Wolff.

But somewhere along the way I lost my voice in writing. And I found it in other genres.

It’s not a sad thing. I don’t feel like I am any less of a person. Just that something so important to me was put aside for many years. And I feel the need to work on it again.

So I am and I can’t wait to see what comes of it.

And I hope you will come along for the ride.

2 thoughts on “Unravelling

  1. I used to write a lot more than I do now. I miss wanting to sit for hours and work on poetry. I could do that easily when I was younger. I hope you’re enjoying Unravelling!
    I just adore these shots, Jen.

Leave a Reply

