Rambles

So I decided to take the bike out on the open road today. Funny thing is I always check the radar before I go. An even funnier thing was it started to rain. I thought this was hilarious because I am on a racing bike with no tread on my tires. That is how these things go. So as the cold water was hitting me, I kept thinking how great it is I am out while it’s raining. And my toes are numb. But I also thought when you race, you have no choice what the weather is going to be that day. You just get out there and do it. I remember one triathlon I competed in, started off with a huge thunderstorm. Now grated they postponed the start, but it happened to be my first half-Ironman. I was nervous enough and then there was lightning to worry about. I am hopeful my races will be full of beautiful weather, but one never knows when competing in May and June. It’s tricky.

I also tried Twitter out for a few months. And today I deleted my account. I just didn’t think it was for me. I wasn’t sure how to approach things, whether it be all about photography, or more personal. I felt like I was babbling and putting too much emphasis on the wrong things. I began to care about who was following me and how many followers I had and why someone would unfollow me. So enough. I have flickr, this spot and my americana site (which has been terribly neglected). I feel like if I have enough to say I should probably write a blog post.

I have to remind myself, it doesn’t matter who or what likes my work, although I thank all of you who do. Or, how many people follow me or leave comments, although I appreciate all of you who do. I need to remember I have to be proud of what I show you, what I shoot from my camera. It has to fill me with such raw emotion…I either want to cry or bust at the seams with excitement when I post something. So for me, I need to work on my work. And focus on why I have this space in the first place. And continue to shoot with passion. Seems silly for some, but for me it’s important.

4 thoughts on “Rambles

  1. It’s not silly at all. Keeping it real and not losing focus can be very difficult when we immerse ourselves in this online community. I’ve often felt the same way and continue to have moments where I have doubts. But when I return to what is important to me, what reflects me, that’s when I feel my happiest.

    The Twitter thing, I find it slightly addictive ๐Ÿ˜‰ I like it more because I often discover links to great things on there. But yes, on the whole it can seem slightly frivolous at times ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Your images speak volumes – and your reflections interspersed btw them makes your photos even more real and raw to me. I feel like you definitely get to know a photographer and how they feel about life & the world – or at least how deeply they feel it – through their images. I hope you’ll continue to post a little bit of each.

    I deleted my facebook account the other day b/c it just makes no sense to me whatsoever. I got sick to my stomach just thinking about it. I do love twitter tho for the connections I’ve made and the connections that have deepened. You have to do what feels right to you..and life will go on! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. “I have to remind myself, it doesnโ€™t matter who or what likes my work, although I thank all of you who do. Or, how many people follow me or leave comments, although I appreciate all of you who do. I need to remember I have to be proud of what I show you, what I shoot from my camera…”

    yes. thank you for the reminder, truly. xx

    and i really, really love the last shot.

Leave a Reply

