Transitioning

I am sitting outside as I write this, under an umbrella on our deck. I am staring at the ranunculus I just bought. It’s yellow and bright, the sun is glowing as it hits the foliage and petals. But I feel kind of blah. Like I shouldn’t, but I haven’t felt like my normal self. Granted, there has been much going on and I am still training for my races for this upcoming season. But every year, during the transition from winter to spring, I think I feel the same. Some years it’s stronger than others. This year is definitely the case. While some parts of the country already have traces of spring, I am staring at the very tops of my daffodils and tulips that will take another month to bloom. From now until then I will pace my gardens, my trees, waiting for some sort of life to pop out. 

This morning I found this quote and it seems very fitting for this transition: 

“It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so! “

~Mark Twain

Seriously. Until then.

3 thoughts on “Transitioning

  1. Yep. I am nodding my head as I feel the same way around this time of year. And as nice as this weather is, I am not throwing myself into it b/c I know we’re still due for colder, ickier weather — don’t want to get my joy cracked into bits when those days return. Love your images, as always!

  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE the pic and these are one of my favorite flowers……what camera did you use? i am thinking of digging my film camera’s out again…Have followed your blog off and on for a few years, since Beebee Mod. I have had a retail shop for 10 years now, but have decided to close it since I just had my 4th child, 3 of which are not school aged. I have admired your ambition, photos etc and often wondered….how does she do it? I hope I do as well staying at home with mine…shelley

Leave a Reply

